ENSEMBLE SJAELLA

Uniform yet individual, gentle yet robust, precise yet free-flowing - this versality is what Sjaella's sound is all about. The six singers joined forces many moons ago and continue to discover new ways to diversify their sound. They are open to new influences, love musical diversity and have the courage to challenge barriers. They are comfortable with their wide-ranging repertoire which comprises various genres. This very diversity coupled with the close relationship the group has with their fans has paved the way, for many years, for Sjaella’s participation in renowned music festivals both domestic and overseas and have been awarded first prizes at international vocal music competitions.

 

Viola Blache

test

Sopran

Viola impresses her listeners not just with her wonderful voice; she also charms them with her love of music and of life. With her keen eye for what is most important she often really hits the nail on the head, bringing an amazing clarity in many difficult situations. She is steady with a light touch, successfully juggling Vocal Studies at HMT Leipzig, concerts across Germany and Sjaella at the same time, while still loving what she does.

Luisa about Viola

Helene Erben

Alt

I met Helene shortly after starting school. I was immediately inspired by her passion for musical experimentation, and she instilled great ambition in me. Her deep voice, in every sense, and her intelligent musicality are the foundation of Sjaella. I am always stunned by her seemingly effortless ability to switch between the contrasting tones of classical singing and a poppy twang. Her playful character means she always greets new challenges with openness and fierce determination.

Marie Charlotte about Helene

Marie Charlotte Seidel

Mezzosopran

Lotte really stands out in the group. Her warm mezzo-soprano voice gives Sjaella a fiery energy, particularly for jazzy pieces. When Lotte is not working with music, she likes to spread her wings and go globe-trotting in distant lands. Lotte is the artistic eye of the group. With her creative ideas and her sense of style, she really shapes the aesthetics of Sjaella. So it is no surprise that she is studying Art History.

Marie about Marie Charlotte

Marie Fenske

Sopran

Marie brings to Sjaella a crystal-clear soprano voice, which has a particularly beautiful ring in Northern European folk songs. This music really lifts her, evoking the free and happy atmosphere of a Scandinavian forest. She has a special talent for finding the most beautiful and idyllic way to describe things, which she uses to compère Sjaella concerts, and in the studies she is so passionate about. Marie is studying Linguistics in Halle an der Saale. In Sjaella she always keeps an eye on the big picture, and it is no exaggeration to say that she is the organisational brain behind the group.

Viola about Marie

Franziska Eberhardt

Sopran

During the years that I have been lucky enough to know Franzi, I have seen her love of music, dance and the stage grow. It was no surprise that she chose a classical course in Vocal Studies at Weimar. She has a perfect control of her voice and her body, and she knows how to present herself. This is particularly useful for us in our choreography work. But everyone who knows Franzi away from the concerts knows that she is not just a sensation on stage. She is always amazing the people around her with her huge repertoire of comic quotes, one-liners, funny faces and tricks.

Helene about Franziska

Luisa Klose

Alt

Our new member, from Leipzig naturally, has a charming voice and an infectious laugh. I think Luisa has a very balanced nature. There is a balance in everything she does, says and sings, and this comes across to others. She shows this in her teaching studies and in her family life of course- her ability to reconcile the latter and her new role on stage impresses me. Luisa also likes cooking, dancing, driving, and listening to radio plays in the evening.

Franzi about Luisa

DAS ENSEMBLE SJAELLA

Homogen und individuell, leicht und kernig, präzise und frei – dieser Facettenreichtum ist es, der den Klang von Sjaella ausmacht. Die 6 Sängerinnen haben ihren gemeinsamen Weg schon vor Jahren gefunden und entdecken doch immer wieder neue Abzweigungen. Sie sind offen für neue Einflüsse, lieben musikalische Vielfalt und haben den Mut, Grenzen auszudehnen. Ihr Repertoire ist entsprechend breit gefächert, in unterschiedlichsten Genres fühlen sie sich zuhause. Diese Vielseitigkeit und die Nähe zu ihrem Publikum verschaffen Sjaella seit Jahren Engagements bei renommierten Musikfestivals im In- und Ausland, Gastauftritte in Funk und Fernsehen sowie 1. Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben für Vokalmusik.

Viola Blache

test

Sopran

Viola beeindruckt nicht nur ihre Hörer mit ihrer wundervollen Stimme, sie vermag auch jedermann durch ihre Liebe zur Musik und zum Leben einzufangen. Mit ihrem klugen Blick für das Wesentliche trifft sie oft den Nagel auf den Kopf und formuliert für mich in manch schwieriger Situation eine wunderbare Klarheit. Bestimmt und doch irgendwie leichtfüßig, wie es scheint, meistert sie ihr Gesangsstudium für Alte Musik an der HMT Leipzig, damit einhergehende Konzerte in ganz Deutschland und Sjaella zugleich, ohne dabei ihre Freude zu verlieren.

von Luisa

Helene Erben

Alt

Helene lernte ich kurz nach meinem Schulanfang kennen. Sie inspirierte mich geradewegs mit ihrer musikalischen Experimentierfreude und entzündete in mir liebevolle Ambitionen. Ihre in jeder Hinsicht bemerkenswert tief gehende Stimme und intelligente Musikalität bildet das Fundament von Sjaella. Immer wieder verblüfft mich ihr scheinbar müheloses Wechseln zwischen den heterogenen Klangfarben der klassischen Gesangstechnik und dem poppigem »Twang«. Ihr spielerisches Gemüt begegnet Neuem stets mit Offenheit und unbändigem Vorantreiben.

von Marie Charlotte

Marie Charlotte Seidel

Mezzosopran

Lotte scheint aus unserer Mitte hervor. Ihr warmer Mezzosopran gibt Sjaella besonders in jazzigen Sphären feurige Energie. Wenn Lotte nicht gerade musikalisch unterwegs ist, zieht es unseren exotischen Reise-Schmetterling in ferne Länder. Lotte ist das künstlerische Auge der Gruppe. Mit ihren kreativen Ideen und ihrem Stil-Empfinden prägt sie maßgeblich die Ästhetik von Sjaella. So scheint es kaum verwunderlich, dass sie sich in ihrem Studium der Kunstgeschichte zuwendet.

von Marie

Marie Fenske

Sopran

Marie schenkt Sjaella ihre glockenklare Sopranstimme, die besonders schön in den Volksweisen des europäischen Nordens erklingt. Denn dort geht ihr Herz auf, wo sie frei und glücklich durch den skandinavischen Wald springen kann. Ihr besonderes Talent, die schönsten und romantischsten Beschreibungen für die Dinge zu finden, bringt sie nicht nur in der Konzertmoderation bei Sjaella ein, sondern mit viel Herzblut auch in ihrem Studium. Marie widmet sich in Halle an der Saale der Sprechwissenschaft. Bei Sjaella verliert sie nie den Blick fürs Große und Ganze und kann ohne Übertreibung als das Organisationstalent der Gruppe bezeichnet werden.

von Viola

Franziska Eberhardt

Sopran

Während all der Jahre, die ich Franzi in ihrem Leben schon begleiten durfte, konnte ich ihre Freude zur Musik, zum Tanz und zum Bühnenleben wachsen sehen. Daher ist es nur verständlich, dass sie sich für ein klassisches Gesangsstudium in Weimar entschieden hat. Neben ihrer Stimme weiß sie auch ihren Körper perfekt zu beherrschen und in Szene zu setzen, was uns vor allem bei der Arbeit an Choreografien sehr zugute kommt. Aber alle, die Franzi auch außerhalb jeglicher Konzerte erleben dürfen wissen, dass sie nicht nur auf der Bühne ein absoluter Knaller ist, sondern auch im Alltag ihre Mitmenschen mit einem gigantischen Repertoire an Loriotzitaten, Sprüchen, Grimassen und Körperkünsten zum Staunen bringt.

von Helene

Luisa Klose

Alt

Unsere frische Neue, natürlich Leipzigerin, mit einnehmender Stimme und ansteckendem Lachen. Für mich ist Luisa eine Frau der Balance. In allem, was sie tut, sagt und singt schwingt eine Ausgeglichenheit mit, die sich gleich auf andere überträgt. Das kommt ihr ebenso im Lehramtsstudium sowie natürlich im eigenen Familienalltag zugute, den sie auf bewundernswerte Weise mit ihrem neuen Bühnenjob vereint. Nebenbei ist Luisa aber auch noch Köchin, Tänzerin, Chauffeurin und Abendliche-Hörspiele-Rezipientin.

von Franzi